Close Menu

Food Science Certificate Program

The Department of Food Science and Nutrition offers three certificate programs through IIT: Food Safety and Technology, Food Process Engineering, and Food Processing Specialist. Certificate programs provide a student with post baccalaureate knowledge in a specialized area. Students in these programs register as certificate students. Certificate programs typically require a total of four courses (12 credits) that must be completed in three years with a minimum GPA of 3.0/4.0. (Note: Some courses may have prerequisites.) Students who are admitted to master’s degree program may apply coursework previously taken in a certificate program towards the requirements for the master’s degree. A minimum TOEFL score of 550 is required. Please download the Food Processing Specialist Program flier (.pdf) for more information on candidate eligibility and program structure. See the 2014-2015 course schedule (.pdf) for dates and times

Types of Graduate Certificates

Certificate of Food Safety and Industrial Management

This program is designed to help students extend their food science technical and practical knowledge of the field while introducing them to core topics and providing up-to-date knowledge of the technologies and modern management approaches used in world-class industrial companies.  To complete the program, students must complete four courses (12 credit hours).

Food Process Engineering Certificate

This program provides an introduction to the field of food engineering with application of chemical engineering to food manufacturing and food safety. This certificate requires four courses (12 credits).

Food Processing Specialist Certificate

This program is designed to provide a broad working knowledge of technical elements of thermal processing systems (with understanding of alternative technologies) to quality at an intermediate level as a recognized Food Processing Specialist. The certificate requires four courses (12 credits). For the course schedule, see the link to the left.

Food Safety and Technology Certificate

This program provides knowledge of food safety and technology and its applications in the food industry and in federal and state public health agencies. This certificate requires four courses (12 credits).